(1) The Jivatatva
(The conscious principle):

Our soul is like a lake. Just as the lake has pure and pellucid water, the soul has infinite knowledge, boundless faith, limitless spiritual felicity but through such canals as attachment, hatred, passion, illusion, etc. the rubbish of Karmas flows into the lake of our soul. On account of this, the tremendous purity of the soul, its infinite knowledge, felicity etc. have been polluted.

(2) The Ajivatatva (The inert objects):
This rubbish of Karmas is of two kinds. Some part of it has fine colour and the other part of it has a dirty colour.


(3) The Punyatatva (The principle of merit):
This is rubbish which is partially good and which has a fine colour.

(4) The Paptatva (The principle of sin):
This is rubbish, which is absolutely bad and has a disgusting colour.

(5) The Asravatatva (The principle of influx):
The Asravatatva is the name given to the passage through which the two kinds of rubbish mentioned above enter the soul. Asrav means flow. It is the passage through which the rubbish of Karmas enters the lake of the soul.

(6) The Samvartatva (The principle of blocking the passage):
Samvaran actually means checking or blocking. The Samvartatvais is the method by means of which we can check the rubbish of Karmas from passing into the lake of the soul. Blocking the passages of ashrav and placing lids against them is Samvar.

(7) The Bandha Tatva (The principle of bondage):
The Karmas that flows into the lake of the soul through various passages and become united in the pure and pellucid waters of the soul become assimilated into the soul. Bandha or bondage is the name given to the process of the Karmas becoming assimilated into the soul and absorbed in it.

(8) The Nirjara Tatva (The principle of annihilation):
Nirjara means destroying Karmas. The rubbish in the soul has to be eradicated and the soul has to be cleansed. Just as we purify the impure water in a lake by means of chemicals, we have to cleanse the soul and purify it by means of Tapas or austerities. As the various Karmas get destroyed, to that extent the water in the soul comprising knowledge etc. gets purified.

(9) The Moksha Tatva (The principle of salvation):
When all the passages through which the rubbish comes into the soul have been fully removed, the water becomes pure and pellucid again. In the same manner, when all the impurities in the lake of the soul have been completely removed, when all the Karmas have been completely destroyed, then the infinite knowledge, boundless faith, boundless purity, endless and ineffable felicity manifest themselves. When all the bondages of Karmas have been completely broken and cut off, the jiva attains its natural form. Moksha is totally natural form of the liberated soul, totally released from bondages of Karmas, the body, the senses etc.